About Us >> Awards
Our History

A delegation composed of Mr. Sofronio H. Mosot, Provincial Development Officer; Salvador Cinco, then Vice-Mayor of St. Bernard; Mr. Macario A. Kuizon of BPS Division Office; Ret. Col. Mauricio S. Flores, from the private sector; and Mr. Asterio C. Esaga of the office of the Governor, was sent by Provincial Governor Salvacion Oppus Yñiguez to attend the 2nd Provincial Electric Cooperative Team (PECT) seminar at Los Baños, Laguna, in December 1970. This was the beginning of SOLECO.

When the delegates returned, the Southern Leyte PECT was organized with the delegates plus Engineer Gaudencio R. Cabilao and Mr. Aniceto C. Montaos as members.

Created under Presidential Decree 269 as a non-stock and non-profit, service oriented cooperative… for the purpose of supplying and of promoting and encouraging the fullest use of electricity in an area coverage basis.

December 1, 1975 - Operation of SOLECO began upon taking over the Maasin Electric Light and Power Company.
December 15, 1975 - New office building at Nasaug, Maasin was occupied.
February 15, 1976 - Macrohon and Padre Burgos were energized.
August 2, 1976 - Malitbog was energized.
January 11, 1977 - Tomas Oppus was energized.
May 10, 1977 - Bontoc was energized.
December 26, 1977 - Sogod was energized.
August 17, 1979 - SOLECO entered into a Contract with EDCOP for the latter's architecture and engineering services in the survey and design of the coop's expansion area or Phase II covering the mainland towns of Libagon, St. Bernard, San Juan, Anahawan, Hinundayan, Hinunangan and Silago and the Panaon Island towns of Liloan, San Francisco, Pintuyan and San Ricardo.
October 24, 1980 - SOLECO and Albee Construction and Electro-mechanical Works, Inc. signed a P1,302,200 contract for the construction of Phase II distribution lines.
February 6, 1981 - Funding for the project was secured with the signing of an P18,100,000 construction loan between SOLECO and NEA.